How to save your money as a first time college student.

Every college student should know how to manage and save money while in college.  The first year of college is always a struggle to adjust to, but it may be a little easier if you have some tips on how to save your money in your first year of college.

 

As a junior in college at Western Kentucky University, I have some experience at saving and managing my money efficiently.  My freshmen year of college I was not experienced with managing money and it was a difficult to adjust to the college living.  I wish I had tips on how to save money before I entered the University world.

 

Although living on campus is fun and convenient, I would suggest living with your parents, if you live close enough to campus.  I lived with my parents my first two years of college and not paying rent helped me save money tremendously.  For you girls out there who love to shop, a big tip would be to stay away from the mall, or make a budget on how much you can spend monthly on leisure and fun and stick to it!

 

A tip that I still use today, is try to make your own meals instead of eating out every day.  Eating out 3 times a day can become very expensive.   Try and cook a meal for dinner every night and then use it for lunch the next day also.  This tip saves me about 30 dollars a week.

 

Lastly, stay away from credit cards if you don’t think you can control your spending.  Many college students become thousands of dollars in debt just because of over using their credit cards.  This will not only cause you to have more bills but will also ruin your credit for the future.  If you do get credit cards, be smart when you use them and only spend what you can pay off at the end of the month.

 

These are my tips on how to save your money in your first year in college and in most cases many years after.  Use these simple tips and you will be that freshmen who knows how to save their money.

Leave a comment